Carnival in Berlin

Carnival Masqueraders in Trinidad and Tobago

Carnival Masqueraders in Trinidad and Tobago (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This weekend or better said this Sunday I spend my time at the *”Karnival der Kulturen”* in Berlin. The weather was beautiful and my friends and I had a lot of fun watching many cultural groups performing. At the “ring road” 77 associations from Berlin used this day to present a part of their culture to the audience. During the Carnival I was reminded how diversed Berlin is. It was a colorful event with a positive energy among the people.
My friends and I later participated at the last association which is named “Escobar”. It is an association that represents islands of the Carribean like Trinidad and Tobago, Dominica, St. Lucia, Jamaica and many more. There, they played their local music which is called “Soca”. We all had a great time dancing and enjoying the atmosphere.

3 thoughts on “Carnival in Berlin

  1. What a nice and relevant post about the carnival! Unfortunately, I wasn’t in Berlin this weekend and missed it, but your description of the amazing amtosphere makes up for that. While I watched a scene of the carnival in the news on Saturday, I noticed that some of the groups participating held up signs in protest to show that they need financial assistance because they can no longer self-finance.
    I also found a lot of great pictures of the carnival on the webpage of the Morgenpost:http://www.morgenpost.de/berlin-aktuell/article116321054/Karneval-der-Kulturen-2013-in-Berlin-Alles-was-Sie-wissen-muessen.html

    • Hey Maike,
      I just read the article and watched the video that was added to it. I did not know that almost 1,3 Million people where expected. WOW! I can not imagine the cash flow during the carnival…
      Too bad that you were not able to experience the carnival, but I am sure there will be many more oppurtunities for you to the a part of it in the future.

      Mary

Leave a Reply

